The Cooperating Colleges of Greater Springfield (CCGS)

What Is CCGS?

Springfield College, in cooperation with seven of the area’s finest public and private institutions, has established a cooperative association that has been specifically designed to enhance the educational experience through the use of cooperative programs and services, including cross registration, student-faculty inter-college library privileges, joint student activities, academic cooperation, and student activity calendars.

The Cooperating Colleges of Greater Springfield (CCGS) was formed in 1971 by the presidents of its eight member institutions: American International College, Bay Path College, Elms College, Holyoke Community College, Springfield College, Springfield Technical Community College, Western New England University, and Westfield State University.

Through cooperative planning at the presidential level and the functioning of committees from different administrative levels at member institutions, CCGS serves to:

  • enrich the educational offerings, cultural events, and social activities available at each college
  • offer a wide variety of programs and fields of study to students at each institution
  • provide a valuable economic and educational resource to the Greater Springfield community

Each semester, CCGS members share academic coursework, allowing students from one college to take classes at another. All colleges share library resources, and jointly promote cultural events, concerts, and sporting events available to all CCGS institution students and Pioneer Valley community members.

CCGS Springfield College Student Benefits

As a Springfield College student, you have access and use of many CCGS cooperative programs and services, including:

  • Cross-registration
  • Student and faculty inter-college library privileges
  • Joint student activities
  • Academic cooperation
  • Student activity calendars

Cooperating College Credit

Springfield College undergraduate students may, with approval, enroll for cooperating college credit at any of the CCGS institutions in courses not offered in the curricula of Springfield College. Cooperating college credit is not available for internships and graduate courses. Students are limited to two courses or 6-8 credits per semester.

In Fall or Spring semesters: Students must be registered as full-time (combination of SC and cooperating college courses must total at least 12 credit hours) and complete CCGS cross-registration paperwork prior to taking the course. Tuition costs for courses taken for cooperating college credit are paid by student’s home college. (Note that additional course fees may apply). Grades for completed coursework are submitted to the SC Registrar by the CCGS institution. These grades are reflected on the SC transcript. Credit hours are applied as SC residential credit.

In Summer: Cooperating college credit (CCGS cross-registration) is not available during summer sessions. Students wishing to take a course at a CCGS institution during the summer should follow the procedure for obtaining transfer credit approval. Upon completion of coursework, students must request an official transcript be sent to the SC Registrar. Grades are not recorded on the SC transcript and hours are not applied as SC residential credit.