Full-Time Faculty

 

Miguel L. Arce

Associate Professor
MSW, San Jose State University School for Social Work, 1976
Areas: Program Design and Technical Assistance; Community and Organizational Practice
marce@springfieldcollege.edu (413) 748-3488

 

James J. Canning

Professor
PhD, Smith College School for Social Work, 1997
MSW, Smith College School for Social Work, 1982
Areas: Clinical Research; Clinical Practice with Infants, Children Adolescents, and Families; Social Justice; Social Work Practice
jcanning@springfieldcollege.edu (413) 748-3055

 

Karen Clark-Hoey

Assistant Professor
PhD, The Catholic University of America, 2004
MSW, New York University, 1993
Areas: International Social Work; Program Development
kclark6@springfieldcollege.edu (413) 748-3087

 

William T. Fisher

Assistant Dean for Field Education and Professor
EdD, Columbia University Teachers College, 1989
MSW, University of Connecticut School of Social Work, 1997
MEd, University of Massachusetts, 1983
Areas: Mental Health and Substance Abuse Counseling; Community Organizing; Community Mental Health Program Development
wfisher@springfieldcollege.edu (413) 748-3058

 

Glenn Gemma

Assistant Director of Field Education
LCSW
MSW, University of Connecticut School of Social Work, 1988
Areas: School Social Work, Trauma, Mental Health, Domestic Violence
ggemma@springfieldcollege.edu (413) 748-3027

 

Joseph R. Gianesin

Professor
PhD, University of Denver, 1995
MSW, University of California Los Angeles, 1978
Areas: School Administration; Group Work; School Social Work; Male Adolescent Development; Therapeutic Applications of Adventure
jgianesi@springfieldcollege.edu (413) 748-3061

 

John Habif

Associate Professor
MSW, University of Connecticut School of Social Work, 1974
Areas: Quantitative and Qualitative Research; Mental Health and Addiction; Quality Management; Program Design and Evaluation; Administration; Strategic Planning
jhabif@springfieldcollege.edu (413) 748-3059

 

Thomas Harrigan

Assistant Director of Field Education
MSW, Boston College School of Social Work, 1978
Areas: Adult Mental Health; Trauma; Substance Abuse and Co-Occurring Disorders; LGBT; Couples
tharrigan@springfieldcollege.edu (413) 748-3436

 

Anthony Hill

Assistant Professor
EdD, University of Massachusetts at Amherst, 2011
MSW, University of Pennsylvania, 1994
Areas: Children and Families; Youth Development; Community Engagement and Outreach; School Social Work; Field Education; Secondary Traumatic Stress
ahill@springfieldcollege.edu (413) 748-3068

 

Efrosini Kokaliari

Associate Professor
PhD, Smith College School of Social Work, 2004
MSW, University of Portsmouth, United Kingdom / Hogeschoolf Utrecht, Holland, 2000
MA, Psychoanalytic Studies, Tavistock Clinic, United Kingdom, 2000
Areas: Adult Mental Health; European Social Work; Social Work Practice and Research
ekokaliari@springfieldcollege.edu (413) 748-3066

 

Walter J. Mullin

Professor
PhD, Boston College Graduate School of Social Work, 1999
Certificate in Individual Psychotherapy, Smith College School for Social Work, 1988
MSW, University of Connecticut School of Social Work, 1978
Areas: Child Mental Health; Children and Families; Adult Mental Health; Couples Treatment
wmullin@springfieldcollege.edu (413) 748-3062

 

Ann W. Roy

Professor
PhD, Mandel School of Applied Sciences, Case Western Reserve University, 1985
MSW, Louisiana State University, 1980
Areas: Quantitative Research; Gerontology; Policy Advocacy; Social Work
aroy@springfieldcollege.edu (413) 748-3063

 

Joyce Taylor

Assistant Professor
PhD, Brandeis University, The Heller School for Social Policy and Management, 2009
MA, Brandeis University, The Heller School for Social Policy and Management, 2000
MA, Saint Joseph College, 1995
Areas: Child Welfare; Social Work Practice and Research
jtaylor4@springfieldcollege.edu (508) 404-0321

 

Francine J. Vecchiolla

Dean and Professor
Certificate of Completion, The Leadership Academy in Aging, New York Academy of Medicine, 2009
Management Development Program, Harvard Graduate School of Education, 2001
PhD, Brandeis University, The Heller School for Social Policy and Management, 1987
MSW, University of Connecticut School of Social Work, 1974
Areas: Child Welfare; Program Development; Public/Private Collaboration; Administration; Management and Leadership
fvecchiolla@springfieldcollege.edu (413) 748-3057

 

Lisa E. Watson

Assistant Professor
PhD, Boston College Graduate School of Social Work, 2014
MSW, Ohio State University Graduate School of Social Work, 1994
Areas: Social Work Practice with Children, Youth, and Families; Evidence-Based Treatment Models including TF-CBT; Social Work Research
lwatson@springfieldcollege.edu (413) 748-3045

 

Joseph M. Wronka

Professor
PhD, Brandeis University, The Heller School for Social Policy and Management, 1992
MA, Existential / Phenomenological Psychology, Duquesne University, 1972
Areas: Qualitative Research; Social Welfare Policy; Global Human Rights
jwronka@springfieldcollege.edu (413) 748-3067

Learn More About the Department of Graduate Social Work