Springfield College Celebrates Jesse Parks Scholarship Recipients



Springfield College recently hosted a dinner honoring recipients, past and present, of the Jesse Parks Scholarship at Springfield College.  Since 1986, the Jesse Parks Scholarship has provided an opportunity for high school seniors of color, who live in Springfield, a chance to qualify for a full-tuition scholarship at Springfield College. 

Springfield College established the Jesse Parks Scholarship 28 years ago through its commitment to expand educational opportunities to students from underrepresented ethnic groups in its home city.

Each year, the Springfield College Jesse Parks Scholarship Committee selects one student of color from Springfield who has demonstrated achievement in academics, cocurricular activities participation, involvement in community service, and commitment to the ideals of multiculturalism. 

The scholarship is named after long-time Springfield College faculty member Jesse L. Parks, who at the time of his death, had been a faculty member at Springfield College for 23 years.  Parks served as the director of the graduate physical education program at the College and also assisted leaders in education in several nations while establishing college and secondary school physical education programs.

Additionally, he devoted his personal time to developing leaders in Africa and was deeply devoted to multiculturalism.  Parks worked to bridge gaps between people of all races, economic situations, and education levels in both developing and established nations.

In the photo above, Springfield College Jesse Parks Scholarship recipients from over the years gathered to celebrate this prestigious honor.  From left to right are Alyssa Smith (2013 Graduate of Roger L. Putnam Academy High School and Sports Biology major at Springfield College); Shakita Williams (2013 Graduate of Roger L. Putnam Academy High School and Rehab and Disability Studies major at Springfield College); Samantha Simmons (2011 Graduate of the Springfield Renaissance High School and Sociology major at Springfield College); Trae’von Taylor (2013 Graduate of the High School of Science and Technology and Art major at Springfield College); Bashir Abdul-Waddud (1996 Graduate of Central High School); Robbin Jones Jr. (2007 Graduate of Springfield Central High School); Eriq Jones (Child Development Counselor at Eagleton School); and Anthony Hill (1988 Graduate of Central High School, 1992 Graduate of Springfield College, and current Springfield College School of Social Work Professor).       

For more information about the Springfield College Jesse Parks Scholarship, contact the Springfield College Office of Admissions at 413-748-3136 or admissions@springfieldcollege.edu.