Springfield College President Mary-Beth Cooper Hosts Holiday Gathering for CCGS Members



College presidents gather at Springfield College

Springfield College President Mary-Beth Cooper recently hosted a holiday gathering at her residence on campus for the presidents of the Cooperating Colleges of Greater Springfield (CCGS).

Joining Cooper in her home for some holiday cheer, from left to right, were Springfield Technical Community College President Ira H. Rubenzahl, President Cooper, Holyoke Community College President William F. Messner, Elms College President Sister Mary Reap, Westfield State University Interim President Elizabeth Preston, Bay Path University President Carol A. Leary, and American International College President Vincent M. Maniaci. Due to a prior commitment, Western New England University President Anthony S. Caprio was unable to attend.

Springfield College has been a part of the CCGS since it was formed in 1971 by the presidents of its eight member institutions. The CCGS is an educational consortium that fosters the sharing of programs, talents, and facilities, in an effort to bring to the Greater Springfield area the educational resources of a university while retaining the initiative and vitality of independent institutions.

Through cooperative planning at the presidential level and the functioning of committees from different administrative levels at member institutions, the CCGS continues to enrich the educational offerings, cultural events, and social activities available at each college.