Springfield College and Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Present Hoophall Classic Leadership Award


Leadership Award

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Springfield College and the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame presented the first Hoophall Classic Leadership Award to Springfield College sport management students Sean Smith and Heather Boutin on Monday, Jan. 21. Springfield College President Richard B. Flynn and Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame President and Chief Executive Officer John Doleva made the formal presentation during the 2013 Hoophall Classic at Blake Arena.

Smith is a native of Broken Arrow, Okla., and is the current president of the sport management club and serves on the student athletic advisory committee. He has been on the dean’s list the last four semesters at Springfield College and is a three-time recipient of the President’s Achievers Award. Smith also earned the Student Leadership Award in 2011 and 2012 and has maintained a grade point average of 3.828.

Boutin is a native of Steep Falls, Maine, and has served as the vice president of the sport management club. Boutin has assisted with multiple events on campus including National Girls and Women in Sports Day, Hoops for Heart, and she also has helped with the Hoophall Classic for the last three years. She is a three-time winner of the President’s Achievers Award and has been named to the dean’s list four times while maintaining a grade point average of 3.6.

The Hoophall Classic Leadership Award will be presented annually to both a male and female junior majoring in sport management who has demonstrated a combination of service to Springfield College, the Hoophall Classic, and who has maintained a successful grade point average. Each recipient is awarded a $2,500 scholarship to be used during their senior year at Springfield College.